The 2016 Berlin Conference on Transformative Global Climate Governance “après Paris” is the 12th conference in the well established series of European Conferences on the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change.
This successful conference series began in 2001 with the first Berlin Conference and was complemented by the 2007 Amsterdam Conference on Earth System Governance.
The 2016 Berlin Conference was jointly initiated by the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) and the Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU) at Freie Universität Berlin in the context of DIE’s Klimalog project . It is the second conference in the series jointly hosted by DIE and FFU after the 2010 Berlin Conference.

For more information about DIE’s Klimalog project, please visit:


The Berlin Conference series generally aims at:

• establishing and developing a renowned institution for international exchange among social scientists dealing with global environmental change,
• supporting exchange especially with scientists from developing countries,
• fostering the integration of German and European research into international and global research communities, such as the International Human Dimensions Program of Global Environmental Change by transferring international research agendas to Germany and Europe and providing German as well as European researchers with the opportunity to present their research to the international research community,
• facilitating the integration of European research projects in order to assist in shaping a European research area in the field of the human dimensions of global environmental change,
• stimulating problem-oriented and interdisciplinary research by organising communication between political science and its neighbour disciplines as well as between scientists and decision makers given that transformations to more sustainable societies require an intense communication between disciplines as well as between practitioners and scholars, and
• creating internationally recognised publications.

Previous Conferences

  • Key Dates:

    Submission of Abstracts:
    16 November 2015

    Notification of Acceptance:
    1 February 2016

    Submission of Papers:
    6 May 2016

  • International Steering Committee

    Dirk Messner, Co-Chair Steering Committee (German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), Bonn, Germany)

    Miranda Schreurs, Co-Chair Steering Committee (Environmental Policy Research Centre, Berlin, Germany)

    Frank Biermann (Utrecht University, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, NL)

    John Christensen (United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) DTU Partnership)

    Christiana Figueres (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, Bonn, Germany)

    Carlos Fuller (Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre, Belize)

    Pan Jiahua (CASS, Beijing, China)

    Jennifer Morgan (Greenpeace International)

    J. Timmons Roberts (Brown University, Rhode Islands, USA)

    Heike Schroeder (University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK)

    Leena Srivastava (The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), New Delhi, India)

    Harald Winkler (University of Cape Town, South Africa)