The proceedings of the 2016 Berlin Conference are published online

The 2016 Berlin Conference is over. Many thanks to all participants and contributors. Impressions from the conference are available here

Download the full program booklet here.

The 2016 Berlin Conference Keynote Speakers

We happily announce the following keynote speakers have confirmed their participation in the 2016 Berlin Conference on Global Environmental Change:
Robert O. Keohane: Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University; Yamide Dagnet: World Resources Institute (WRI); Saleemul Huq: International Centre for Climate Change and Development (ICCCAD) & International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED); Monika Zimmermann: ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability; Leena Srivastava: TERI University; Dirk Messner: German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE); Jennifer Morgan: Greenpeace International; Thomas Hale: Blavatnik School of Governance, University of Oxford; Frank W. Geels: Sustainable Consumption Institute (SCI) & Manchester Institute of Innovation Research (MIoIR); Frank Biermann: Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, Utrecht University & Lund University; Milton Obote Ochieng: African Centre for Technology Studies; Feja Lesniewska: SOAS University of London; J. Timmons  Roberts: Brown University; Andy Jordan: Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, University of East Anglia; Martin Jänicke: Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU), Freie Universität Berlin; Thomas Spencer: Institute for Sustainable Development and International Relations (IDDRI); Heike Schroeder: School of International Development, University of East Anglia; Penehuro F. Lafale: LeA International Consultants; Frank Fass-Metz: Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

The 2016 Berlin Conference preliminary programme

A detailed programme with all Parallel Panel Sessions and their presenters as well as all abstracts can be found here


Register now or access ConfTool

Click here to register for participation in the 2016 Berlin Conference and to access the conference management System.

Stay at the Conference Venue


Participants are welcome to stay at the conference venue. The Seminaris Hotel offers a special discount to 2016 Berlin Conference attendees. Go to the hotels webpage and enter the promotioncode “PARIS” when booking your room.

Conference Theme

On 12 December 2015, the UN climate change conference in Paris adopted a new and universal global climate agreement that marks a watershed in international climate politics. Yet, how are we going to achieve its stated long-term goal of limiting global warming to “well below 2 °C above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 °C above pre-industrial levels”? How will the „Paris Agreement“ affect the institutional landscape of global climate governance? Which substantive new priorities have emerged in the negotiation of the „Paris Agreement“ and related decisions?

As pertinent questions revolving around global climate governance are here to stay, this conference invites scholars and practitioners to refocus their quest for answers in the light of the continuity and change that Paris will bring. It also aims to discuss international climate policy and, indeed, politics in the larger context of global governance and the challenges of a transformation towards sustainable development in a turbulent world. In the course of two days, participants will have the opportunity to put the Paris outcomes in perspective with a view to five overarching and interrelated themes:

1. Transformation: pursuit of strategies to realize sustainable development globally, by going beyond „greening“ business as usual and by a corresponding redistribution of relevant resources;
2. Global Justice: provision of fairness and equity across temporal and spatial dimensions, particularly regarding greenhouse gas emissions, natural resources and finance;
3. Coherence: understanding and managing trade-offs between climate policy, sustainable development, economic policies, transformative dynamics and the accompanying institutional complexities;
4. Multilevel Capacity: harnessing global, transnational, regional, national and subnational capacities and contributions to avoiding unmanageable global warming (i.e. mitigation) as well as responses to unavoidable climate change impacts (i.e. adaptation; loss & damage).
5. Framing: identifying risks and opportunities of linking frames, discourses and institutions of climate governance with other global issues such as security, migration, trade, food security or land use.

The conference provides a timely space for interdisciplinary transformation research that builds on institutionalist scholarship, social and cultural sciences, policy analysis, political philosophy as well as political economy approaches to climate governance. It seeks to facilitate exchange and to enhance  transformative literacy.

  • Key Dates:

    Submission of Abstracts:
    16 November 2015

    Notification of Acceptance:
    1 February 2016

    Submission of Papers:
    6 May 2016

  • International Steering Committee

    Dirk Messner, Co-Chair Steering Committee (German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), Bonn, Germany)

    Miranda Schreurs, Co-Chair Steering Committee (Environmental Policy Research Centre, Berlin, Germany)

    Frank Biermann (Utrecht University, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, NL)

    John Christensen (United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) DTU Partnership)

    Christiana Figueres (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, Bonn, Germany)

    Carlos Fuller (Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre, Belize)

    Pan Jiahua (CASS, Beijing, China)

    Jennifer Morgan (Greenpeace International)

    J. Timmons Roberts (Brown University, Rhode Islands, USA)

    Heike Schroeder (University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK)

    Leena Srivastava (The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), New Delhi, India)

    Harald Winkler (University of Cape Town, South Africa)