Review Process

In order to increase transparency of the paper selection process, you will find information about the review process in this section.

We have received more than 300 abstracts submitted by colleagues from more than 48 countries.

All submissions have been subject to a double-blind peer review with at least four anonymous reviewers per abstract. We thus ensure a high quality of the presentations and a coherent thematic structure of the conference. The process was as follows:

  1. After closing the call for papers (1 April 2012) all submitted abstracts have been reviewed by the international review panel (see list below).
  2. All abstracts were evaluated independently and anonymously by at least four reviewers, allotted on a random basis.
  3. Review criteria were the scientific quality of the proposal, novelty of research and fit with the conference theme.
  4. Abstracts were ranked on a scale from 10 points (excellent/highly appropriate for the conference) to 1 point (not appropriate/rejection).
  5. For every abstract an average grade was then calculated and all abstracts were ranked accordingly.

Given the restrictions of conference space and presentation time, we accepted the 200 papers which fitted best the conference theme.

This is the list of the 46 members of the international review panel:

Camilla Adelle University of East Anglia
Stratos Arampatzis Tero Ltd
Tom Bauler Université Libre de Bruxelles
Thomas Bernauer ETH Zurich
Ines Dombrowsky German Development Institute
Lorraine Elliott Australian National University
Robert Falkner London School of Economics and Political Science
Peter Feindt University of Cardiff
Oliver Fritsch University of Exeter
Aarti Gupta Wageningen University
Rüdiger Haum German Adivsory Council on Global Change (WBGU)
Katharina Helming Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF)
Julia Hertin German Advisory Council on the Environment
Dave Huitema VU University Amsterdam
Sylvia Karlsson-Vinkhuyzen Wageningen University
Teresa Kramarz Woodsworth College, University of Toronto
Eva-Maria Kunseler Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency (PBL) / Institute for Environmental Studies (IVM) VU University Amsterdam
Pierre Labarthe INRA
Markus Lederer TU Darmstadt
Ina Lehmann University of Bremen
Timothy Moss Leibniz Institute for Regional Development and Structural Planning
Mans Nilsson Stockholm Environment Institute
Ralf Nordbeck University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)
Sebastian Oberth Free University Brussels
Axel Olearius GIZ
Claudia Pahl-Wostl University Osnabrueck
Susan Park University of Sidney
Philipp Pattberg VU University Amsterdam
Kaja Peterson Stockholm Environment Institute Tallinn Centre
Ulrich Petschow Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IÖW)
Frank Pothen Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW)
Aranka Podhora Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF)
Michalle Pressend Economic Justice Network, Cape Town
Stefan Reis Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
Klaus Rennings Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW)
Matteo Roggero Humbold Universität Berlin
Frieder Rubik Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IOEW)
Heli Saarikoski Finnish Environment Institute
Heike Schroeder University of East Anglia
Reinhard Steurer University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)
Lindsay Stringer University of Leeds
John Turnpenny University of East Anglia
Nicolien van der Grijp VU University Amsterdam
Wynanda Inezvan Enst Utrecht University
Sabine Weiland Freie Universität Berlin
Oran Young University of California
Fariborz Zelli Lund University
  • News

  • Key Dates:

    Deadline for paper abstracts: 1 April, 2012

    Notification of acceptance: 30 June, 2012

    Full papers due: 15 September, 2012

  • International Steering Committee

    Klaus Jacob, Chair Steering Committee (Environmental Policy Research Centre, Berlin, Germany)

    Sabine Weiland (Environmental Policy Research Centre, Berlin, Germany)

    Jan-Erik Wien (Alterra, Wageningen University, Netherlands)

    Andrew Jordan (University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK)

    Carlo Carraro (Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei, Milan and Venice, Italy)

    Hubert Wiggering (Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, Müncheberg, Germany)

    Frank Biermann (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands)

    Ilan Chabay (Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam, Germany)

    Markku Puupponen (PEER Secretary, Finnish Environment Institute, Helsinki, Finland)

    Lin Zhen (IGSNRR, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China)