Following you find information about the review process in order to increase transparency in the selection process.

We have received 381 abstracts submitted by colleagues from more than 45 countries.

All submissions to the 2010 Berlin Conference on the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change have been subject to a double-blind review process with at least four anonymous peer reviewers per abstract. We thus ensure a high quality of the presentations and a coherent thematic structure of the conference.

  1. After closing the call for papers (6 April 2010) all submitted abstracts have been reviewed by the international review panel (see list below).
  2. All abstracts were evaluated independently and anonymously by at least four reviewers, allotted on a random basis.
  3. Review criteria were fit with the conference theme, novelty of research and the scientific quality of the proposal.
  4. Abstracts were ranked on a scale from 10 points (excellent/highly appropriate for the conference) to 1 point (not appropriate/rejection).
  5. For every abstract an average grade was then calculated and all abstracts were ranked accordingly.

Given the restrictions of conference space and presentation time, we accepted the 220 papers which fitted best the conference theme.

The 53 members of the international review panel:

Steinar Andresen Fridtjof Nansen Institute
Steffen Bauer German Development Institute (DIE)
Thomas Bernauer ETH Zurich
Michelle Betsill Colorado University
Frank Biermann IVM
Raimund Bleischwitz Wuppertal Institute
Clara Brandi German Development Institute (DIE)
Per-Olof Busch Uni Potsdam, DVPW
Klaus Dingwerth Universität Bremen
Ines Dombrowsky UFZ
Lorraine Elliott Australian National University
Robert Falkner London School of Economics and Political Science
Sunayana Ganguly German Development Institute (DIE)
Francois Gemenne Sciences Po
Aarti Gupta Wageningen University
Rüdiger Haum German Adivsory Council on the Environment (SRU)
Julia Hertin German Adivsory Council on the Environment (SRU)
Chinwe Ifejika Speranza German Development Institute (DIE)
Klaus Jacob Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU)
Thomas Jahn Institute for Social-Ecological Research (ISOE)
Helge Jörgens Freie University Berlin, FFU
Kirsten Jörgensen Freie University Berlin, FFU
Sylvia Karlsson-Vinkhuyzen University of Turku
Claudia Kemfert DIW
Kristine Kern Åbo Akademi University and Wageningen University
Andreas Kraemer Ecologic Institute
Teresa Kramarz Munk Centre
Nana Künkel GTZ
Louis Lebel Chiang Mai University
Markus Lederer Uni Potsdam
Mans Nilsson SEI
Ralf Nordbeck BOKU Wien
Sebastian Oberthür Free University Brussels
Chukwumerije Okereke Univeristy of Oxford
Lennart Olsson Lund University
Susan Park University of Sydney
Matthew Paterson University of Ottawa
Philipp Pattberg IVM
Anna Pegels German Development Institute (DIE)
Ulrich Petschow IOEW
Klaus Rennings ZEW
Heike Schroeder University of Oxford
Bernd Sommer Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen (KWI)
Detlef Sprinz Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Lindsay Stringer University of Leeds
Andreas Thiel HU
John Turnpenny UEA
Nicolien van der Grijp Vrije Universiteit, IVM
Stacy VanDeveer University of New Hampshire
Christian von Haldenwang German Development Institute (DIE)
Lynn Wagner IISD
Fariborz Zelli German Development Institute (DIE)